I.VW | Dr.-Hans-Kessler Award
Institute of Insurance Economics

The Dr.-Hans-Kessler Award for the best Master’s thesis in the field of risk management and insurance is presented annually at the general assembly of I.VW in June. The following list shows the winners of the past years:

  • 2017: Andrin Marugg for the Master’s Thesis “Modelling Catastrophic and Credit Events in a Marshall-Olkin Framework”
  • 2016: Roland Toth for the Master’s Thesis “An Offspring-Based Contribution Scheme for the Swiss Pay-as-you-go Pension”
  • 2015: Benjamin Schmid for the Master’s Thesis “Behavioral Biases in Insurance and an Experimental Study of Smart Default in Health Insurance”
  • 2014: Alessandra Kübler for the Master’s Thesis “Risk Aversion and Microinsurance – an Experimental Analysis”
  • 2013: Pascal Häderli for the Master’s Thesis “Insurance at the Point of Sale”
  • 2012: Isabelle Hanselmann for the Master’s Thesis “The Ban on Gender as a Risk-Rating Factor in Insurance: A Discussion of the Economical and Legal Aspects”
  • 2011: Pascal Bühler for the Master’s Thesis “Customer Capital-Management – Entwicklung eines neuartigen Konzepts zur wertorientierten Steuerung von Dienstleistungsunternehmen”
  • 2010: Lysiane Clivaz for the Master’s Thesis “Insurance Guaranty Funds – Fundamentals and Implications”
  • 2009: Kaspar Wohnlich for the Master’s Thesis “Das SQA unter spezieller Berücksichtigung des IKS im Spannungsfeld von versicherungsaufsichtsrechtlichen und obligationsrechtlichen Aspekten”
  • 2008: Wen Du for the Master’s Thesis “Management von Katastrophenrisiken: CAT-Bonds und ihre Anwendungsmöglichkeiten in China”

The prize is part of an extensive legacy to promote research in the fields of risk management and the insurance industry, which was generously donated to the I.VW-HSG by the Kessler family in memory of Dr. Hans Kessler (KESSLER & CO AG, Zurich).

Scroll Up